From Pennsauken High School to Rowan University

Cortes, Hofbauer

Giselle Cortes in the upper left hand corner. Kelly O’Brien in the right upper corner. Rachel Hafbauer in the bottom left corner. Taylor Gretz in the bottom right corner. Photo from Rowan University.

By Sierra Morrison

Pennsauken N.J – In their season opener held March 1, Rowan University Women’s Lacrosse defeated Ursinus University 12-7. Since then the women’s lacrosse team has played two more games. They recently lost their most recent game against Salisbury University, 6-16 and are on a 2 game losing streak. Despite being 1-3 women’s lacrosse player Giselle Cortes (Sr.) expects a turn around as soon as they travel to Florida.

Women’s lacrosse next scheduled games will be in Florida on March 14 and 17 playing against Western New England University and Denison University.

For Cortes, her roots began in High School. Cortes went to Pennsauken High School and was selected female athlete of the year her junior year (2012) for garnishing 1st team all conference honor for both field hockey and lacrosse. Also, she became the youngest to receive that award as its given senior year. By the time Cortes was a senior in high school, she was again selected female athlete of the year and became the first female to receive it twice.

I think what got me there again was not only getting 1st team all conferences honors in both field hockey and lacrosse but also, I broke the scoring record for field hockey overall and had the most high scoring season,” said Cortes. “In lacrosse as well by the end of senior year I became the all time scorer. Furthermore, what probably really allowed me to receive the award was that I was awarded The Iron Award (consisting of a sword and plaque), this award was the second biggest in which I became the second female athlete to receive it in over 20 yrs.”

 It should be noted that lacrosse wasn’t Cortes primary sport.

“I played field hockey during the fall, then my junior year I began to pay basketball in the winter, and Lacrosse in the spring,” said Cortes. “By my senior year, I was in mid season of basketball, although I loved it I knew at the time I needed something more to prepare myself for lacrosse and the collegiate level, so I quit during mid season and indoor track.”

After graduating from Pennsauken High School, Cortes went to Rowan University and continues to play lacrosse.

Leave a Reply

